Muthmir Under Consideration for Beverley Bullet

Muthmir could bring an exciting dimension to the totescoop6 Beverley Bullet on Saturday, August 27.

Trainer William Haggas is giving the £50,000 Listed sprint at Beverley serious consideration for his high-class sprinter, who was a late non-runner in the Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes at York last Friday.

The Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum-owned six-year-old had previously finished sixth in defence of his Qatar King George Stakes crown at Goodwood on July 29. Haggas has earmarked a potentially lucrative autumnal campaign for Muthmir, with assignments in Ireland and France on the table, but thoughts could firstly turn to the Bullet on Beverley's richest raceday of the season.

The Newmarket handler said: "The Beverley Bullet is a possibility for Muthmir. The rain that came at York on Friday was most unhelpful, but he's in fine form and has done well since Goodwood. He's not really had a great deal of luck this year, but we need to get him out soon. He's in the Flying Five (Curragh) and the Abbaye (Chantilly) and I'd like to run him in both, but a lot of that depends upon how the ground is. He's in fine form and is good to go – he just needs to race."

Muthmir is currently trading as the 4-1 favourite for the Beverley Bullet, which attracted 23 possible runners at the entry stage. The going at Beverley is currently good to firm ahead of the big race at the weekend, which could see last season's respective first and second, Maarek and Line Of Reason, renew rivalry. Rain is forecast on Thursday, but conditions are likely to remain largely dry in the build-up to Bullet day, the first leg of Beverley's August Bank Holiday double-header.


2006 Baltic King Kevin Darley/Hughie Morrison
2007 Hellvelyn Ted Durcan/Bryan Smart
2008 Look Busy  Slade O'Hara/Alan Berry
2009 Exceptional Art Franny Norton/David Nicholls
2010 Mister Hughie Sam Hitchcott/Mick Channon
2011 Tangerine Trees Tom Eaves/Bryan Smart
2012 Borderlescott Frederik Tylicki/Robin Bastiman
2013 Stepper Point Martin Dwyer/William Muir
2014 Pearl Secret Jamie Spencer/David Barron
2015 Maarek Jamie Spencer/Evanna McCutcheon