Reason Back in Bullet Firing Line

Line Of Reason will attempt to make it third-time lucky in the totescoop6 Beverley Bullet (3.10) on Saturday.

Trained in Westow, North Yorkshire, by Paul Midgley, the six-year-old gelding has competed in the last two renewals of the £50,000 sprint over five furlongs. Third behind Pearl Secret in 2014, the son of Kheleyf was narrowly denied 12 months ago when he missed out by a neck to Maarek, who renews rivalry on Beverley's richest raceday of the summer. Line Of Reason has been highly tried this season, and even broke the five-furlong track record on June 16 with a length-and-a-quarter defeat of Red Pike.

Midgley said: "He's in great form and hopefully it stays dry between now and the Bullet. We obviously know he enjoys running at Beverley - he broke the track record earlier in the year - and we've got him just where we want him to be. He's never really had the rub of the green this season, for one reason or another. He was very unlucky in the King George at Goodwood, when he got caught for room. He would definitely have finished in the money that day, rather than finishing down the field. Muthmir is the big danger, I think, but as long as conditions are in his favour and he turns up in good form, our horse should take all the beating."

Beverley sustained 14 millimetres of rainfall on Thursday night, with the going on Friday morning described as good, good to soft in places. Dry weather has been forecast until after Saturday's eight-race card, which begins at 2pm and forms the first leg of Beverley's August Bank Holiday double-header.


Sky Bet bet: 11-4 Muthmir, 11-2 Line Of Reason, 13-2 Mr Lupton, Maarek, 15-2 Kingsgate Native, 8-1 Willytheconqueror, 12-1 Final Venture, Caspian Prince, 14-1 Alpha Delphini, Son Of Africa.


2006 Baltic King Kevin Darley/Hughie Morrison
2007 Hellvelyn Ted Durcan/Bryan Smart
2008 Look Busy Slade O'Hara/Alan Berry
2009 Exceptional Art Franny Norton/David Nicholls
2010 Mister Hughie Sam Hitchcott/Mick Channon
2011 Tangerine Trees Tom Eaves/Bryan Smart
2012 Borderlescott Frederik Tylicki/Robin Bastiman
2013 Stepper Point Martin Dwyer/William Muir
2014 Pearl Secret Jamie Spencer/David Barron
2015 Maarek Jamie Spencer/Evanna McCutcheon