Reason in Bullet Firing Line

Paul Midgley is optimistic Line Of Reason can go two places better than last year when his star sprinter runs in the £50,000 totescoop6 Beverley Bullet on Saturday.

Despite having been hampered inside the final furlong of the 2014 renewal, the five-year-old gelding still flashed home for third place behind Pearl Secret. The son of Kheleyf has again had a fine campaign this season, with a runaway Listed victory at Cork in June the highlight. And though he was never a factor in the Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes at York last Friday, Midgley is convinced the real Line Of Reason will show up on the Westwood.

“He's in great form and if the forecast is right, and it continues to dry up, I think he'll take the beating," said the North Yorkshire handler. "We don't quite know what happened at York, so I think that run is best forgotten. He ran a smashing race last year at Beverley - Jamie Spencer was brilliant on the winner - but we were held up a little bit and that didn't help. We're very happy with his draw (three) and, on the figures, he'd have every chance."

Bookmakers quote Line Of Reason a general 6-1 shot about winning the prestigious five-furlong dash – the keynote race on Beverley’s richest ever raceday. Irish sprinter Maarek is the current ante-post favourite at around 5-1.

The going at Beverley remains good, good to soft in places, with the £136,000 eight-race card due to begin at 1.45pm and the Bullet broadcast live on Channel 4 Racing at 2.20pm. There is also £60,000 in prize-money at Beverley on Sunday, when the gates open for an eight-race fixture that starts at 1.50pm.

Beverley Chief Executive Sally Iggulden said: “We are really happy with the quality of the races on Saturday and Sunday – especially in the totescoop6 Beverley Bullet as we continue to push towards making the prestigious sprint into a Group race. Everything is in place for what should be a fantastic weekend of racing.”

1) Line of Reason (stall 3) Paul Midgley/Graham Lee (9st 4lb)
2) Alben Star (6) Richard Fahey/David Nolan (9st)
3) Brother Tiger (15) David Griffiths/PJ McDonald (9st)
4) Confessional (1) Tim Easterby/David Allan (9st)
5) Maarek (4) Evanna McCutcheon/Jamie Spencer (9st)
6) Poyle Vinnie (12) Michael Appleby/Andrew Mullen (9st)
7) Red Pike (7) Bryan Smart/Tom Eaves (9st)
8) Tangerine Trees (2) Bryan Smart/Fergal Lynch (9st)
9) Katawi (13) Chris Wall/Tony Hamilton (8st 13lb)
10) Northgate Lad (11) Brian Ellison/Silvestre de Sousa (8st 12lb)
11) Cordial (9) Stuart Williams/Saleem Golam (8st 9lb)
12) Holley Shiftwell (7) Stuart Williams/Graham Gibbons (8st 9lb)
13) Iffranesia (14) Robert Cowell/Luke Morris (8st 9lb)
14) Ridge Ranger (10) Eric Alston/Neil Farley (8st 9lb)
15) Willbeme (16) Neville Bycroft/Dale Swift (8st 9lb)
16) Dikta Del Mar (5) Tom Hogan/Ben Curtis (8st 7lb)

2014 Pearl Secret (2-1f) David Barron/Jamie Spencer
2013 Stepper Point (10-1) William Muir/Martin Dwyer
2012 Borderlescott (8-1) Robin Bastiman/Frederik Tylicki
2011 Tangerine Trees (10-1) Bryan Smart/Tom Eaves
2010 Mister Hughie (7-1) Mick Channon/Sam Hitchcott
2009 Exceptional Art (16-1) David Nicholls/Franny Norton
2008 Look Busy (11-2) Alan Berry/Slade O'Hara
2007 Hellvelyn (4-1) Bryan Smart/Ted Durcan
2006 Baltic King (7-2) Hughie Morrison/Kevin Darley
2005 Chookie Heiton (7-1) Ian Semple/Tom Eaves